Thread: foley insertion problems

Question foley insertion problems

Hi everyone, I am a new nurse of only 1 year. I have recently switched from oncology/medsurg to a staffing company which i find challenging and rewarding! On my first day I prepared to insert a foley into a comatose male patient. His penis had not only the opening but below it was about 1/2 inch opening that looked to be from a foley that had maybe been there for a long time?? Anyways, I inserted the foley .. felt a little resistance and advanced it. As I did this blood starts goin into the foley!! I about had a heart attack right there! I have never had this happen.I got a more experienced nurse to help me and she reinserted with yet the same issue.

now, before i changed the old foley he was admitted with . his uring was amber in color . but once this foley was in it was pure blood.

Can i get some thoughts on this??

Ricu

Re: foley insertion problems

Quote Originally Posted by penrose715 View Post
    Hi everyone, I am a new nurse of only 1 year. I have recently switched from oncology/medsurg to a staffing company which i find challenging and rewarding! On my first day I prepared to insert a foley into a comatose male patient. His penis had not only the opening but below it was about 1/2 inch opening that looked to be from a foley that had maybe been there for a long time?? Anyways, I inserted the foley .. felt a little resistance and advanced it. As I did this blood starts goin into the foley!! I about had a heart attack right there! I have never had this happen.I got a more experienced nurse to help me and she reinserted with yet the same issue.

now, before i changed the old foley he was admitted with . his uring was amber in color . but once this foley was in it was pure blood.

Can i get some thoughts on this??

Interesting.