Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nursing Burnout

Nursing Burnout

I am a very new member but I got interested in this website while I was looking for information for a class presentation. I am a LPN student with 5 weeks left to go. I am doing a presentation on Nursing burnout and ways to prevent it. I would love for anyone to give me ideas that I can present to my class. I would love to hear from people that have personally gone through it or have prevented going through it by different measures!! Please!! Thanks!

Re: Nursing Burnout

Hi jenni welcome the the forums. Man, you have one tall order there. Do you have any preconceived notions yet about "burnout"? Something like a working outline? Some specific questions?

"Burnout" is just way too general and generic a term to be discussed objectively. What seems like burnout to one, looks like good sense to another. I think you have to narrow this down for it to make any sense to you, and to me.

O_S

I mainly want to know what people do to keep liking their job. We have to present ideas to the class to help people not get burned out. Nursing burn out to me is when you do not like to go to your job anymore and you dread going to work. I just wanted to know if anyone had any ideas about how to prevent it.

Member Extraordinaire

do the best job you can everytime you go to work
    don't take other peoples bad days personal
    do things for yourself so the job isn't the only thing you have
    be flexabie
    get involved in some of the decision making if you can.
    good thing about nursing if you do get burn out on your unit/hospital go to a different one but don't job hop