Thread: Nursing Question

Nursing Question

I am single and will be 40 in August. I have a Masters in Social Work and have worked as a counselor and supervisor in the mental health field since 1989. I'm ready for a change and feel burned out by my current profession. In college, I was initially pre-med and even though I switched to psychology, I never lost my interest in the medical field. I began taking prerequisite courses for nursing a year and a half ago and hope to get into a BSN program in 2006 or 2007. My biggest fear, however, is financial--returning to school full-time and not having a full-time, benefitted job to support myself. I'm still trying to figure out how to manage paying for two years of school and two years of living expenses without coming out of it with tons of debt, not to mention the unsettling feeling of not having the stability of employment. I also realize if I really want this to work, I'll find a way to make it work. I'm just wondering if anyone else out there has suggestions/ideas about how to go about this. Thanks for any information! Mary

Re: Nursing Question

I don't know anything about your life situation but, I am married and have a child and I went to school full time and worked full time too. I just didn't have any trouble managing because it was something that I really wanted. I am not saying that it was easy, but I do feel that it was well worth it. I am 40 now and I have been a RN for 3 years. I have my Associates Degree and I am currently working on my BSN I still attend school full time. I do have to admit that if it was not for student loans I would have never of made it. Good luck.