Thread: Launching into traveling

Launching into traveling

I would like to transition into travel nursing sometime this fall. I've worked for 3 years on a busy general surgery floor, with floats to medical, ortho, cardiac, oncology, and neuro. This was my first job out of school, and I feel fairly confident now as an RN, and will get good references. Does anyone have tips about how to find a good agency, what to look for in assignments, what to expect, filling out the applications, etc. I have lots of life experience traveling, and chose nursing as a second career in part because it would allow me to travel. I want a good first experience so that I will want to keep at it. Also, I am taking a 4 month hiatus to hike the Pacific Crest Trail this summer and would like to get as much of the paperwork and bureaucratic issues out of the way before I take off in June. How realistic is this? I've looked at some forums ranking agencies, and am confused. Any advice, stories, encouragement, etc. would be very much appreciated. Thanks!

Member Extraordinaire

Re: Launching into traveling

Do lots of research before choosing a company- check out our review section to read about other traveler's opinion of different companies. If you want to get most of your paperwork out of the way now, I would fill out applications with a few different companies. Once they have your application materials on file, they can submit you to different assignments whenever you are ready. You will have to apply for licensure in the state you'll be traveling to, though, and I would wait to do that until you actually have an assignment lined up.

Things you should expect from travel companies- free first-day medical & dental insurance, 401k, travel & liensure reimbursement, free private housing, no less than $30/hr (more depending on where you travel to). There are enough travel companies that offer these things, that you should not settle for less.
    Amanda, RN, BSN
    Ex-Traveler Extraordinaire,