Thread: Liability Question for Experienced Nurses

Liability Question for Experienced Nurses

Hey All,

I'm a new nursing student (1st year) and am taking a law & ethics class and would like to solicit some feedback from experienced nurses regarding their understanding of off-duty liability.

For example, would you stop at the scene of an accident? Have you been asked to provide free health advice to neighbors or relatives? And if you've been in any of these situations, how did you respond? Did you feel hesitant to provide help or did you just jump right in, so to speak, and provide assistance? Does your willingness to help correspond with your knowledge and experience?

From the folks I've spoken to, there seems to be an overall hesitancy to get involved because of a fear of being sued.

Does anyone agree or disagree?

Thanks!

Anonymous

Re: Liability Question for Experienced Nurses

I will answer your questions in reverse order.. I don't give medical advice to neighbors or acquaitances. I am not a doctor. The only advice I give is, "See your primary physcian or go to the ER if you are concerned." Heck that's the advice I give my own kids.. What good would it do me to give them a diagnosis if I can't treat them???

As for stopping at the scene. You are protected by the Good Samaritan laws.. Your textbook probably addressing that issue.

WR,,, three commas for Becca

You'll find that as soon as people find out you're an RN they often start to describe whatever medical problem they (or some relative) have & ask advise. I suggest you handle it the same way WindingRoad suggests & listen nicely then suggest they see their doctor about it.