Thread: Good places to work in San Diego, CA?

Good places to work in San Diego, CA?

Hi everyone! I was thinking of doing travel nursing in San Diego, and I was wondering if any of you had any suggestions for good hospitals to work at? I'm an ICU nurse, so if any of you have any experience in the critical care units at any of the hospitals in San diego, I would really appreciate your input. In general, though, I would appreciate any input on good hospitals to work at in San Diego. Thank you!

Re: Good places to work in San Diego, CA?

hey when are you going.. i have been thinking of going myself in january.. i have been wondering this same thing.. i hear that kaiser is a good company

Thumbs down Re: Good places to work in San Diego, CA?

I am currently on assignment at Kaiser S.D. It is one of the worst places to work. I am an ICU nurse, but travelers are ALWAYS the first to float. People do NOT help you, and you WILL get the worst assignments on the units. I wish that I could have something positive to say, so here goes: at least the law gives you patient to nurse ratios 2:1 in the ICU, and 3-4:1 on the floors. Most of the time they make sure that you get breaks/lunch, etc.

Very inefficient hospital, although we did just implement a new computer system that is promising in the distance. No Pyxxis, still do Narc counts and have med carts. The ancillary services are pitiful at best, i.e. lab, transport, pharmacy, etc. Definitely a difference in patient care, most nurses are not concerned with high quality care, mediocre most times. They do NOT put the patient first and do what is best for them. It was a big change coming from Indiana.