Thread: New To Recovery, Morphine Addict

Smile New To Recovery, Morphine Addict

Hey Everyone, I Am New To This. I Am A Recovering Morphine Addict From Connecticut. I Quit My Nursing Job A Month Ago Because They Were Going To Fire Me And They Offered Me No Help. I Checked Myself Into Rehab The Next Day And It Was The Best Thing I Ever Did. I Wish I Never Started Using. Now I Am Trying To Find A Job And When You Are An Icu Nurse, It Is Difficult Because Everyone Requires That You Give Narcs And I Have Been Honest Telling Everyone That I Cannot Give Narcs. I Am Waiting For My State Hearing Which May Not Be For Six Months From Now. I Have 2 Nurse Friends Who Have Been Through This And Still Have Jobs Because Their Jobs Offered Them Help. I Feel Like I Am Being Discriminated Against Which Is Sad Because There Are Thousands Of Us Out There. I Think There Should Be More Education Available To People About This Problem. I Regret What I Did And Just Want Another Chance To Do What I Love, Taking Care Of Critically Ill Patients. I Could Care Less About Giving Narcs And I Am Never Going To Do What I Did Again But I Understand Recovery Is A Long Road. I Am Attending Na Meetings Which Help And My Family Is So Supportive. I Am Continuing To Push On Finding A Job. Any Suggestions? Feel Free To Email Me. Thanks, Tracy

Thumbs up Re: New To Recovery, Morphine Addict

The position that you are in is a very easy one to get in and a hard
    one to get out off. With you being an ICU nurse you are probably
    used to working under a lot of pressure. Right now you are under
    a lot of pressure. Do you have a lawyer? You might consider not
    working in ICU for a while so that you can be out from under the
    pressure that caused you to yield to morphine. You sound like
    you genuinely care about your patients. I think that you can do
    more for the patients that you have with less pressure on you.
    You might consider long term care for a period of time until