Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Graduated 2 yrs ago..will I ever get a job?

Graduated 2 yrs ago..will I ever get a job?

Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum. I hope someone can give me some advice. I graduated with a BSN about 2 yrs ago. When I graduated, I had to deal with some family issues that prevented me from searching for a full time job right away. Little did I know that waiting a year would lead to the enormous difficulties in finding a job.
    I guess the economy has a lot to do with it too. I passed the NCLEX the first time, and had a good GPA when I graduated. I had a different career before nursing school, and never had so much difficulty finding a job.

I have been searching jobs in the NYC area, including Westchester and NJ for over a year now. I am currently working in a nursing long term care facility (for about 10 mos), but it's not acute care, and every single recruiter I've talked to has told me this doesn't 'count' as experience.
    But I've applied a few times to most hospitals in NYC, gone to open houses (where there were over 100 nurses applying for a few positions), talked in person to recruiters, etc. Some hospitals won't even let you talk to a recruiter or manager, and want you to apply online.

I've also had a few referrals from people I know, but this still didn't get me an interview. Alot of places also don't want to hire w/o experience right now.
    I just don't know what to do. I have heard of new grads getting jobs, even though most of them are having a hard time too. But I think I may be less likely to be hired than a new grad at this point. I still remember most of what I learned in school, and have taken numerous continuing ed courses, and certifications in BLS, ACLS, IV therapy, etc.

I just can't even seem to get an interview in most cases. I always get rejection letters or emails stating that I don't have enough experience or that they will keep my resume on file.