Thread: medic to RN to military?

medic to RN to military?

Hello! I'm not an RN yet but have enjoyed reading a lot of your posts. I am a retired firefighter and a paramedic. Still work as a medic part time but want to get my RN next. I have been considering working as a military RN afterwards but it seems doubtful they would alow me in due to my 44 years! Any advice as how to go about trying to get through the red tape? If it's possible, I'll probably go for it. I know it sounds crazy. Thanks for any help!!!!

Wink Re: medic to RN to military?

:60: Welcome to the site. Certain that I've read that the max age has been pushed up lately. You should have no problems as long as you get licensed soon. We have a military forum here that you should find interesting and SoldierNurse can help you out with info.

Re: medic to RN to military?

Quote Originally Posted by MedicMom View Post
    Hello! I'm not an RN yet but have enjoyed reading a lot of your posts. I am a retired firefighter and a paramedic. Still work as a medic part time but want to get my RN next. I have been considering working as a military RN afterwards but it seems doubtful they would alow me in due to my 44 years! Any advice as how to go about trying to get through the red tape? If it's possible, I'll probably go for it. I know it sounds crazy. Thanks for any help!!!!
    The age cut off for Army Nurse Corps officer entry is 46 years old.

Please, start new thread in Military Forum section if you have more questions. Thanks.
    Cary James Barrett, RN, BSN

Welcome MedicMom. It is good to see another Paramedic on the site.
    Flight/Trauma Nurse
    RN, B.S.N., CCRN, ccNREMT-P, FP-C,
    B.S. NeuroScience, M.S.N.(ACNP/FNP) Student
    ACLS, PALS, NRP, PHTLS, and all the other $2 titles

Hello Medicmom,

Chances may be slim of a nursing career in the military.

However, once you're a nurse and out there practicing, you'll find tons of opportunities and types of nursing to choose from.