Thread: RNs please reply: general info: new traveller SC

RNs please reply: general info: new traveller SC

Hi. I am new to this site so excuse any mistakes. I am an RN and I have about 3 years experience on a busy cardiac surgical unit. I am looking to take a travel assignment in Charleston, SC (my best friend lives there) and I have applied with a few travel companies. So far they all seem to offer about the same packages. I have researched travel nursing for a while and have read all the general questions, etc that travel companies put out but I was looking for any "inside" tips from real nurses who have actually travelled, esp. in Charleston.
    I have a dog and my most important things are the hospital unit itself and housing. Can I ask for specifics of insurance coverage prior to deciding which company? Also can I find out exactly where I would live before signing on, because the nicer the housing, the more likely I would be to take an assignment from that company. Am I wrong to think I can pretty much dictate what I want since there are a few companies wanting me to work for them?
    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Re: RNs please reply: general info: new traveller SC

Hi. I'm a nurse, traveler, and recruiter. You can have your cake and eat it TOO! Housing, travel, pay, are all bargining chips that should each be negotiated. I would be glad to give you freely any information I have that might help.

Thanks

Paul

Summit Medical Staffing
    www.summitmedstaff.com
    1-800-330-3867 Ext 812