Thread: As I student, How can I help you?

As I student, How can I help you?

I am a Nursing student in New York. I have done clinical in 4 different hospitals on several different floors. I find that some nurses love having us there and go out of their way to help us experience as much as possible and are more than willing to offer advise and teach the "real world" way of doing things. I have also found that some nurses want very little to do with us. They are happy to have us clean up their patients but when it comes to performing some actual skills that require an ounce of brain power, they would rather we not be involved. We are fully covered by our schools' insurance and we work under the direct supervision of an instructor so I don't think their reasons for not wanting us there are due to liability. I would like to know if any of you nurses out there have students at your facilities and if so what advise can you offer on how I can be more helpful without getting in the way. Also, do you enjoy having students, why or why not? I'm sure there are nightmare stories out there. An evening student assigned to the patient I was taking care of during the day shift last THURS & Fri was feeding her and I don't know what they were thinking because after a bowl-full they realized the food was not going into the stomach and this poor elderly person developed aspiration pneumonia.

Re: As I student, How can I help you?