Thread: Nursing Students' Experiences and Issues

Nursing Students\' Experiences and Issues

I am a nursing student and as part of a class project I have to gather information about the issues/experiences that nursing students have during their clinical rotations. This week I will start the Maternal-Baby Clinical and I would like to know what to expect. Have any of you had any experience in this unit before? How did it go? How did you feel while you were there? Let me know.

Re: Nursing Students\' Experiences and Issues

My Amazing Journey

So. I have to say that my first OB clinical experience was like crashing in a foreign country. Babies. Babies everywhere! I don't know what they want! Let alone what they need! What if I hurt one! What if I, oh-please-Lord-NO! DROP one!!
    You see, I have no children of my own. My nieces and nephews are my age. Even though they've had children, they're all so far away. The very idea of being responsible for something that tiny and dependent absolutely scared me to death!
    Know what I found out? ….Those little critters are pretty darn forgiving! Apparently, no one informed them that I was dumber than a sack of hair when it comes to babies! They honestly had no idea! There I am wrapping measuring tapes around their little heads and chests, sticking things where things aren't meant to be stuck, folding those tiny little ears flat for no other purpose than to see if they spring back!, and, well, the list goes on. I've resorted to torturing helpless little babies and they just look at me like…….."Go on, you can do this! It's for my own good. I trust'ya!"
    I'm surly going to hell………sigh….