Thread: impressed

Talking impressed

Wow, this site is amazing. What a supportive, encouraging and informative community!

This is my first time being a member of a discussion forum. I am in an accelerated nursing program in the midwest. I have six months to go until I get my BSN, after which I want to work locally for a year before getting into travel nursing. I spoke with an experienced nurse who works at the hospital where I want to apply for a job, and she recommended that I look into a cardiac step-down floor, a post-surgical floor, or a neuro step-down floor. I know I should get good med-surg experience in order to prepare for travel nursing, but I'm not sure which of those floors would be best for gaining that experience. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks so much!

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working

Re: impressed

Hi, JSwan! Glad to have you with us.

To me, post surgical sounds like a logical choice, but...that is only MHO. Then again, I also have my BSN, but prefer my LTCers.

Again, welcome to the site, and hope to see many of your posts in the future. Good luck in school.

'Cat'

Thanks for your reply and welcome, Cat! Does LTC = Long Term Care? I also initially figured a post-surgical floor would be the best option, but then my friend mentioned a couple of times that I could get med-surg experience on the step-down floors too, which was confusing. I guess there must be some overlap. Hmm maybe the question I should have asked is, would it be better to get a little more cardiac monitoring experience, neuro monitoring experience, or post-surgical experience with that med-surg? Hey, that might be a good question for the Travel Nursing threads...I think I'll head over there now! :39:

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working

Quote Originally Posted by JSwan View Post