Thread: Needing some encouragement

Question Needing some encouragement

I'm a nurse in Missouri, and I was recently caught diverting. I've started an outpatient recovery program and it's great. I was amazed at how well I could lie to myself about this problem.
    While I'm getting better, I'm now dying of anxiety. I've got a possible felony charge pending, and a good lawyer helping. Some of the other postings have really help my otherwise bleak outlook on life. I started my treatment before any legal action, I'm told that might help.
    My wife is also an RN, and I was able to fool her the entire time I was diverting. Telling her the truth was the hardest thing I have ever done. But she is amazing. She never judged me - and without her support, I doubt I would even be walking the planet today.
    I was just hoping some one could offer any advise on how this is going to play out. Will I ever be a nurse again if I'm a felon? I've read a little about how "prosicution was delayed" and dropped after a year sober, ect.
    This all has been a nightmare, and I wish I could just wake up. But I know that won't happen, so I guess I'll just have to keep staying up all night and searching for encouragement in this forum. Everyone who posts in here should know how much help the provide people like me and situations like this. Thank you all for the little bit of sanity you give me.

Red face Re: Needing some encouragement

hello, i hope maybe you can take something away from my post. First and foremost, i am glad to hear that you are in treatment, it helps soo much, especially in the beginning when it seems like problem after problem is dropping into your lap. I am also very happy that your wife is understanding and supportive. Since i've been lurking around this and other sites, it seems for every 1 discouraging person, you will find 20 encouraging ones.