Thread: Some Strategy from a Diversion Graduate!!!

Exclamation Some Strategy from a Diversion Graduate!!!

Hi everyone..I am a graduate from the CA diversion program 2 years out. Wow, I am blown away reading all this stuff on ETG and all the "incidentals"!:mad: It seems that when I started out in Diversion it was not that difficult, if you can even call it that now. I remember testing and being worried that somehow, somewhere, even though I was 100% compliant always, that I would test positive because the lab "mixed up my urine with someone else's" or something crazy like that. But if I were to have to worry about the ETG factor I would have definitely been a basket case. The program itself is very rigorous indeed but the threat of the "ETG factor" almost makes me think of the "color coded threat barometer" the goverment uses for terrorist alerts! Diversion nurses are always on "red plus"! :confused: From reading the postings it seems that alot of people are really spending alot of time and effort researching and looking for evidence to help their cause. I know it seems that it is the right thing to do, to find evidence and facts to help support you if you test "incidental", but honestly, I think it is futile. The board members are a fickle group. I think they do have the best intentions and really do want everyone to succeed, but I don't think that it really matters to them at all. I feel, as a diversion graduate (in 3 years) the best strategy in this "Diversion game" is to learn the game itself. Don't get me worng, of course I am grateful for my recovery and it honestly did change my life and I am doing excellent, but recovery from drugs and alcohol and changing your life is TOTALLY separate from the diversion program itself. I believe that is the key...LEARN THE GAME. If the game is not eating or using ANYTHING that MAY make you test positive, then do that. If the game is ACCEPTING whatever the board throws at you and figuring out how to HANDLE that, then do tha