Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: gay male nurse coming out at work

gay male nurse coming out at work

I am a gay male nurse who works at a small town cimmunity hosiptal...I am thinking about coming out at work because the females keep hitting on me e.g pinchinh my bvehind etc etc and ideas are appreciated

Re: gay male nurse coming out at work

If you want to come out come out. Personally, I can understand your situation with the females even though I'm not gay. I worked at a place where I was the only male and the women were all twice my age and none of them were attractive (though that's not the point). I'm married but it didn't stop them from talking about me right in front of me and or hitting on my and stuff like that.

It was VERY uncomfortable.

In fact, it went so far as one of them talking about her sex life in front of me and me telling her I didn't care to hear about it, at which point she proceeded to offer me oral sex. I said, I'm married. She said, so.

I immediately told the supervisor. She was suspended for one week and back at it again the next week. Needless to say I didn't work there very long. But this wasn't harmless flirting. This was out and out sexual harrassment by multiple employees. It was flattering at first, but got old really quickly. The employees there were ignorant in my opinion, and it's scary that they even have a job at all, let alone the ones they had taking care of sick people.

Why not just say, "I'd appreciate it if you NOT do that anymore." If it doesn't stop, tell the supervisor you are uncomfortable with it."

Of course, if you do this it might create some ill will and then when they do find out you are gay, they'll treat you poorly.

They are going to find out eventually though, I would assume.

I guess the question is are you comfortable with telling them? I'm sure it's a very difficult thing to do, depending on the people around you and how tolerant/open minded they might be.