Thread: Male Nurse Question

Male Nurse Question

Is anyone a male going to nursing school?
    I'm starting school in September working towards being an RN.
    I was wondering if anyone has experienced problems being a male going into a predominately female profession.
    Any help would be great!
    Thanks.

Re: Male Nurse Question

I am a male graduating from nursing school (RN) in December. The only problm i encountered, was during my maternal rotation. i found that a lot of women who just gave birth were uncomfortable with a male nurse doing assessments on them. Also, i had to have a female chaperone during all patient assessments during that rotation. Other than that , it has not been a problem at all.

I'm a nurse and male. The two have nothing to do with each other as far as i am concerned. I went to college with people that were male, female, black, white, indian, Turkish, Polish, etc. Get the picture? I know it's tough in nursing school, but you have to get a graps of your own confidence. DO NOT focus on skills. FOCUS ON KNOWLEDGE of disease processes and how to think through labs, a disease, and underlying disease and what it all means to that pt right now, the next hour, and where you want to be by the end of a shift.

Skills can be learned anytime. Work as a CNA or Tech while in shool. Let the nurses know you are a student, they will let you mange stuff you never thought they would and you will gain confidence and comfort with complex technolgy stuff.

Get a job as a CNA or a pt care tech in a hospital. I can't say it enough. I was a pool CNA in a cardiac focused hospital while i was in college andI I cant tell you enough. The education I got was invaluable.

Study hard, but never too hard. Eat well. Complex carbs the night before and the day of a test.

For Maternity Rotations: