Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Negotiate directly without a travel company?

Negotiate directly without a travel company?

Is it possible to negotiate directly with a hospital for an assignment without a travel nurse company? Has anyone had any experience with this?

Wendy

Anonymous

Re: Negotiate directly without a travel company?

It is possible. Probable that you might get an assignment. Probably not. You might want to check into becoming an independent contractor. There are many informative sites on the net to research that route.

Good Luck

WR,,, three commas for Becca

I am a retired military OR nurse with my BSN and 20 yrs of nursing experience, so I won't need benefits such as medical, 401K, etc. Nor do I wish to go thru the independant contractor route. I would just like to make $25-$35 per hour plus a housing stipend of $900-1200 per month and work either 3 12's or 4 days on and 3 off. Wouldn't negotiating directly save the typical $100 per hour a travel nurse company charges a hospital? Plus, I would be able to go where I want instead of having to rely on 3-4 recruiters trying to find assignments that are in thier commissions best interest. Why would this be a difficult thing to do? Do hospitals trust the travel nurse companies more than a nurse willing to meet them directly who has excellant referrals?

Anonymous