Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Suboxne?

Question Suboxne?

I'm thinking about trying suboxne to kick my addiction to dilaudid. Questions: Can anyone tell me about it , does it work? Is it really trading on addiction for another or is it like quitting smoking and becoming addicted to the patch? Also, does it show up in UA's. If I start it will my employer find out thru UA's. I'm a nurse that hasn't been caught using yet....because I don't get high at work or divert but that is coming I know.....if I don't quit now. I use about 30mg dilaudid every6-8 hours depending on if I'm working or not. Any info on suboxne would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks and god bless you all in recovery!! Your in my prayers!:confused:

Re: Suboxne?

hi,
    I am not an addict, but my son was. I am a nurse and just saw your post. My son was a heroin addict and then later became addicted to methadone (which was given for an injury not maintenance) and then he went from that to fentanyl patches. He started Suboxone several months ago, and has been tapering off very slow. He is down to 0.25 mg qd. I think the trick to the suboxone is not to stay on it for a very long time. You use it for detox and the slowly taper off. I have read where people stay on it for years and of course then it is a problem. He seems to be doing pretty well with it even on this dose, so we will see when it ends in about 2 weeks i think. He has not abused or try to abuse this med so thats good. Give it a try, good luck

Member Extraordinaire hppygr8ful's Avatar

Re: Suboxne?