Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Nursing shortage"? Fact or fiction?

"Nursing shortage"? Fact or fiction?

Hi, everyone! Eden again!

For those who do not know... I'm a college student with the intent of going into an LPN program once all pre-requisites are completed.

And..
    I do have another question:

Everyone talks about there being a nursing shortage, and then I hear from other sources that it's a "myth" and there's actually an overabundance of them! This isn't true, is it? One of the biggest things that draws me to wanting to be a nurse, aside from wanting to make a difference, is the job security. Nurses are definitely always in demand, correct? Is it just in some settings/areas of medicine that there is an overabundance and then some settings/areas there is a shortage? Please elaborate. Or is the "myth" simply not true at all? Thanks so much!!!!

XOXO,
    Eden

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working
    There 'is' a shortage, trust me! There are nurses out there who can't get a job d/t older nurses staying in the work force (economy, etc).

Some places may be looking for nurses, but many may not be able to move/want to relocate.

I know I have posts out there about the situation.....

Member Extraordinaire hppygr8ful's Avatar
    While there is a definite shortage of qualified nurses that doesn't mean there aren't a lot of unemployed nurses out there. Under the Affordable Care act hospitals that want to keep their funding options at maximum are being told that they should only consider hiring RN who have Bachelor's or higher level degrees. That means that there are a lot of us who fall between the cracks where education is concerned. I have been fortunate enough to be continuously employed as nurse for the past 10 years but a recent search of open positions showed me that there really isn't that much out there for a 10 year veteran with no advanced degree.