Dear Colleagues,

Good day.

I am a cardiac cath lab nurse here in Dubai, I was questioned many times for having abnormal reading from my radiation monitoring badge. I was told that I should not have any reading more than the interventionist and the technician, since we are not the main operator but the nurses are the one attending to all cases and sometimes work close to the source of the radiation when patient is critically ill and when it is necessary. According to the International standard/practices, if a single DIS badge/TLD is worn it is usually placed outside the apron at collar level because this is to monitor the exposure of the staff’s head, lens of the eye and neck. It is important to ensure that our lens and thyroid radiation exposure dose equivalents are within recommended limits but in our practice here in our hospital, we were told to keep our DIS/TLD badges inside our lead apron to keep the reading at the minimum, which we felt defeats the purpose. They were just after the safety and how effective our lead gowns & thyroid shields are, but not for the welfare of the staff. Although the radiation in the Cath lab does not impose any major concern or impact a significant risk to our health because we comply with the established safety practices. The cumulative risk with lifetime exposure could become a significant risk.

I hope they consider giving nurses who work under ionizing radiation a benefit such as radiation hazard pay or a radiation vacation which is paid, in lieu of their submission to the occupational hazard, otherwise nobody will volunteer to work in the Cath Lab and take the risk.