Thread: RN SCRUB training

RN SCRUB training

I have been circulating in the OR for 4 years. I went through the AORN Periop 101 program, and am able to scrub simple cases (most plastics, minor general surgery, minor vascular) but want to be proficient in all. I don't get the opportunity at my current job to scrub much since I am always working with a tech. Now that I am functioning independently, they will not put me back in training and double staff a room while I learn. Anyone know of hospitals willing to train RNs to scrub? Again, I already have grasped the basic concepts (setup, gowning, gloving, counting, etc.).

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working

Re: RN SCRUB training

Welcome to the site, peps007! I moved your post to the OR Forum. MarieLPN, our resident OR nurse, could probably help you on many of your questions when she drops by.

Hope to see you around!

'Cat'

Quote Originally Posted by cougarnurse View Post
    Welcome to the site, peps007! I moved your post to the OR Forum. MarieLPN, our resident OR nurse, could probably help you on many of your questions when she drops by.

Hope to see you around!

'Cat'
    Let me say that I was a Certified Surgical Tech for three years, as well as have worked in the OR as an RN for 4 years. So, even though my specialty has been the ICU since 2006 I do know a thing or two about the OR.

peps007, I started in the healthcare field as a CST [w/Associate of Applied Science in Surgical Technology]. Upon completion of nuring school left the OR to work as an RN on 64-bed Telemetry Unit, next worked in 10-bed ICU. Decided I missed the OR I went back to working as an RN in the OR. I found the transition to Circulator very easy based on my previous CST experience. I was offered a sign-on bonus to go back to the OR where I was a CST. They let me first scrub a lot when they were short of scrub techs. However, in the OR the RN's primary duty is to Circulate. In the past I've wished I'd pursued RNFA credentials.