Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Poll-Name five.....

Poll-Name five.....

Name five things which bring you the most joy in Nursing.
    Name five things which you would like to see changed to improve your Nursing experience. Name more if you have more thoughts!

Re: Poll-Name five.....

Making patients laugh or smile.

Anything that takes their mind off their condition.

Having the answer to their questions.

Helping them get better and seeing them progress.

I like to be able to think that their stay was made a little bit better because "I" was there. That maybe I did something that someone else would not have taken the time to do/say.

Right now, since I'm still a student, I can't do all the things nurses can do, but I CAN make them feel better, or happier, or smile, etc. That's what it is for me.

Very good topic by the way.

Very good answers. I felt good reading your responses!

I like helping patients understand what is going on with them.
    Doing the little extras (sneaking in a cat was one) that really make a difference for either their recovery or to make peace before their deaths.
    Watching new nurses gain knowledge and expertise, and helping them along the way to get to that knowledge and expertise.
    Being an advocate for those that can't advocate for themselves.
    Having a patient say Thanks or you really helped me thru this.
    What I don't like:
    Executives who base decisions on the budget rather than what is safe and will produce quality care.
    Doctors who think they are gods and treat the rest of the world accordingly.
    Medical/Surgical residents who discount our years of experience and count on their book knowledge to pull them thru a rough clinical problem.
    Managers and suits that lie to make themsleves look good or to cover up their flaws (hey, we all ahve them! why lie??)
    Unsafe staffing
    Lack of retention iniatives for experienced staff.
    Having accrued vacation time but not being able to use it.