Thread: what to do while waiting to get in RN program

Question what to do while waiting to get in RN program

Hi. I am just beginning my pre-reqs for the RN program. I am a little older than some, but have also worked as an EMT (I had EMT-Basic cert prior to moving and having kids). I just attended a meeting where the director went through the process. I will have 3 semesters of pre-reqs, then petition. They are saying that the wait time to get into the RN program after you petition is 1 to 1 1/2 years. I am wanting to get my BSN (at a different school that the one I will start at - as the tuition there is 5 times higher) and then go on to get a MSN so I can become a CRNA. They have a program that is RN to BSN (through the university that I will be transferring to after getting ASN) that takes 1 year once you are an RN to complete. Is it more beneficial to work on the BSN while waiting to start the RN or just wait until I am an RN and then go through the RN to BSN program? I know there is a great need for RNs out there, but how is the situation with CRNAs? What are the "doors" that are more open to someone coming out of school with a BSN rather than an ASN? I did really enjoy being an EMT, so I am thinking that I will really enjoy nursing. I am thinking CRNA because it pays a little better and I have a certain amount of years before I really need to work (when my littlest one is off to school full time). Does anyone know the difference in pay between ASN - BSN - MSN (CRNA)? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Terri

Work as a nursing assistant, volunteer at a hospital, read as much as you can about nursing.

Get an NCLEX review book and start studying questions, terminology now!

You'll find that studying the questions now, will help you with your exams in your clinical areas. Most courses teach/test you on questions/content you'll see on the exam.

Best wishes,

Andrew Lopez, RN
    http://www.nursefriendly.com/nclex