Thread: Getting frustrated ...

Getting frustrated ...

So, I'm an LVN student that will be graduating in about two weeks. I've started my job hunt, and I've heard from so many people that they've gotten hired at various places. My problem? I want hospital, not nursing home. Evidently that's a sin. So I've sent a couple of resumes to hospitals, but to no avail. I've heard from no one, and I'm slowly but surely getting discouraged. I am getting disappointed in the healthcare field for making LVNs seem so ... useless? Dispensible? I don't know what word I'm looking for, but I'm angry about it! I hate that I have to look so hard when people are always going on about the shortage. I hate feeling this frustrated about it!

My point is, how do I try to control this stress? What can I do to put myself out there more than I already have? How can I compromise my job standards just enough to get a job without completely losing sight of what I want?

Maybe those aren't questions that a forum can help me answer, but if nothing else, I'm sure there's someone else out there who feels the same way that can at least give me some insight about controlling all this frustration.

xxo, C.

Re: Getting frustrated ...

'My point is, how do I try to control this stress?
    What can I do to put myself out there more than I
    already have? How can I compromise my job standards
    just enough to get a job without completely losing
    sight of what I want?'

Hi C,

Your frustration is certainly understandable,
    AND it may also be what is standing in your way.
    You cannot control what is outside of you, yet,
    you have total control of what is inside of you.
    This is the place to put your focus.

Focus on exactly what you want to be doing,
    FEEL how it feels to be the nurse you want to be,
    see yourself in the position helping a patient.
    Make a vision board with these images and know that
    your ideal position is available and seeking you.