Thread: Need help in finding another job

Need help in finding another job

Hi to all and so glad that I have found this forum. I am a opiate addicted nurse too. 10 years ago I fell on the ice and severely broke my elbow. I was prescribed vicodin for the pain for a year. Every job since then (pharm tech,HHA, LTC LPN) I diverted and stole 100's of pills. Never got caught until 2 months ago. I dont really know if my licence is going to be effected, it probably will. I had a narcotics investigator came to my home and talk to me about the missing pills and med errors. I told him that I had only took one, for a toothache and the rest of the errors were just documentation errors. I dont take pills on a regular basis and alright until I have to work with them, then I always pick up. Do you think that I could work at a detox center? I dont think that there will be any opiates around me. I do not crave anything alse just vics and percocets. Do you think that I am doing the right thing? Thanks.

Member Extraordinaire hppygr8ful's Avatar

Re: Need help in finding another job

So glad you found us here - By way of introduction I am an alcoholic/addict. I voluntarily referred myself to the California diversion program in September '04 went through an intensive out patient treatment program and have been clean and sober ever since. I have just a little under a year left in the diversion program and my life even with the hassels of diversion is the best it's ever been.